Memorial Foundation names Scholar Athletes for September

Adam Stearns of Columbia and Kathryn Lohman of Venedy have been named Memorial Foundation Scholar Athletes of the Month for September.

Stearns, a senior at Gibault Catholic High School, has a 4.27 grade point average (GPA) on a 4.0 scale and is the captain of the school’s soccer team. He is a member of the National Honor Society and Students for Life. A Citizenship Award recipient, Stearns also is a peer counselor, a member of the math team and student activities board as well as concert and jazz bands. He is an active member of his church and participated in a summer service trip in which they helped elderly and low income families in Cairo, Illinois. Upon graduation, he plans to pursue his education in health sciences or biology.

Lohman, a senior at Okawville High School, participates in volleyball, basketball and softball while maintaining a 4.0 GPA. She is a member of the National Honor Society, Mu Alpha Theta math honor society, Quill and Scroll journalism honor society and Tri-M music honor society. Lohman also serves on the Student Leadership Team and Varsity Worldwide Youth in Science and Engineering as well as is a member of the band, Spanish Club, Science Club, Fellowship of Christian Athletes and serves as president of Student Council as well as the senior class. Active in her church and community, she assists with a variety of activities and fund raisers along with helping athletes at the Southern Illinois Special Olympics. She plans to pursue a degree in chemistry and would like to further her education with a medical degree, perhaps specializing in orthopedic and sports medicine.

The scholar athlete program, sponsored by Memorial Foundation in cooperation with Memorial Rehab and Sports Medicine and BJC Medical Group Orthopedics and Sports Medicine recognizes one male and one female senior scholar athlete from a high school in Memorial’s primary and selected secondary service area. The monthly award winners from September 2018 through April 2019 will be eligible for one of two $1,500 scholarships to be awarded in May 2019.

Adam Stearns, Gibault Catholic High School and Kathryn Lohman, Okawville High School